KLCC-eveinglight

I feel like I just rediscovered home.

As I am writing this, I sitting in a not-so-fully-air-conditioned-ergo-a-tad-bit-stuffy McDonald’s after having just trekked a mini excursion around Petaling Street.

It’s been a while since I’ve done something like this. And now I realized that I love KL.

Kuala_Lumpur1
The sound of the LRT whizzing by in its track make me so proud to be Malaysian.

The genuine smiling faces of tourists greeting me as I walk around Chow Kit envelopes me in a warm way, reminding me that there is the spirit of unity amongst us humans. We just need to really look for it.

It’s funny having this epiphany when I just blogged about how much I love New York and how I can’t wait to visit it and explore every nook and cranny of the city when there is one right here.

One that I have grown familiar with and have somehow taken for granted.

dsc_0396

Sure the vibe is somewhat different but I feel the tenacity of it too. The way everyone seem to be rushing off somewhere to either catch a bus or a train or make their way to work or to shopping malls or to a hotel.

They are all bustling and here I am, sitting here, watching people walk by while I remain completely still. You see a lot.

I certainly did.

There’s group of well seasoned tourists in front of me, talking about their plans for the day. Listening to them, I can help but feel excited for them. Excited for the sights and sounds they are going to take in.

I don’t know why I suddenly feel like this.

Maybe it takes leaving home and flying off to a different country to make me really appreciate what I have here.

Being a somewhat spoilt city kid, I’ve somehow managed to eclipse the wonder that is Malaysia and if it weren’t for the fact that I wouldn’t be in this country in the next three months, I probably wouldn’t be looking at KL in the same light. It would probably just be like any other ordinary city to me.

Which is why I’m glad to be leaving. So then I’d appreciate what home is.

PS: By the way, Hajok. I wish you were so you’d be able to help take shots of KL through my eyes= ) But hope you don’t mind me “stealing” some of your amazing shots of the city.

